The Betrayal (Nerakhoon)/Shao (cello)/Shore
9 April 2011
Shore: The Betrayal (Nerakhoon) Play
Artist: Sophie Shao (Cello)
IV - Between Heaven and Hell Play
IX - War Play
XVI - Water Buffalo Play


Thank you for visiting and welcome to my website! Please click on "Become a Fan" to keep apprised of upcoming concerts and the latest news.


GRAMOPHONE: The World's Best Classical Music Reviews SHORE Mythic Gardens. Ruin & Memory by Richard Whitehouse ...With its inspiration in three classic Italian gardens, Mythic Gardens (2014) was written for Sophie Shao – her warm and alluring cello tone well suited to music in which soloist and orchestra are even more closely integrated. The first two movements might have benefited from greater expressive contrast but the final Presto banishes any lingering wistfulness with its purposeful sense of resolution. Sound is that of a spacious and well-defined acoustic, and it is no surprise that the booklet-notes on either work are less extensive than those on the musicians. A pity about the short duration, too, as there are numerous shorter pieces by Shore that would have been apposite as a filler.

Become a Fan

Become a fan of Sophie Shao to hear about new music, videos, event info & special offers.